Grand Slam Sports Tournaments

Points Formula

The Race for the Cup awards teams points based on their results from Grand Slam sanctioned events. Each year Grand Slam awards a Cup to the team who amasses the most points in each age division and in each state. Here is how the points are awarded:

  • 1 point for each event played
  • Points earned for place finished, in reverse order (Ex: In a 12-team event, the 12th place team gets 1-point, 11th place 2-points, 10th place 3-points, etc
    • +3 bonus points for finishing 1st
    • +2 bonus points for finishing 2nd
    • +1 bonus point for finishing 3rd
    • +1 bonus point for finishing 4th
  • 5 bonus points once your team has played in 5 Grand Slam sanctioned events.

Some events offer DOUBLE or TRIPLE points. Bonus points earned for playing in 5 Grand Slam sanctioned events are not inlcuded in the points multiplier.


9 & Under Class C

Rank Team Record Win % Points
1 2012 Birmingham Buzz (9U-C)
Birmingham, AL
3-1-0 .750 16
2 Next Level 10U (9U-C)
Trussville, AL
1-2-0 .333 10
3 Birmingham Blizzard 2012 (9U-C)
Hoover, AL
0-3-0 .000 6
4 Chilton Crushers 12 (9U-C)
Thorsby, AL
0-3-0 .000 4
5 Shelby Savage 2012 (9U-C)
Alabaster, AL
0-0-0 .000